Foreplay

Förra året var det inte direkt någon sakta förberedelse period in i den intensiva jobbperioden. Jag började och pang! en vecka senare kastades jag in i det hela. Den här gången har jag istället haft minst sagt lite tid att förbereda mig. Eller vet du vad - jag insåg precis att jag sedan november haft världens längsta förspel in i högsäsongen. 

Vilket såklart i PCO-världen (Professional Congress Organizer) sträcker sig från april till augusti med bara en kort paus några veckor i juni. 

Om bara 2 veckor (HERREGUD - 2 VECKOR!) är det dags för årets första kongress som såklart sammanfaller med min första kongress som Projekt koordinator - vilket i princip innebär att jag jobbat med alla delar från utställning, till talare, skyltning och tja, det mesta. Självklart tillsammans med ett helt fantastiskt team! 

Efter en paus från livet-onsite i över 6 månader måste jag erkänna att det känns lite som första gången och jag pendlar hela tiden mellan att vara förväntansfull och nervös. Sedan tar jag en promenad (ett av många tips från min fantastiska mentor Lisa) för att rensa huvudet och sedan kickar event-mentaliteten in och den där måste-ha ”Allt-löser-sig”-inställningen och sedan känns allt bra igen. 

  

English: 

Last year I didn’t exactly have a slow preparation time into the intense work period. I started and boom! one week later I was thrown into it. 

This time around I had a little bit of preparation, to say the least. You know what - I just realized that I have since november had the worlds longest foreplay into the high season. Which of course in the world of PCO (Professional Congress Organizer) ranges from April to August with a short break a couple of weeks in June. 

In just 2 weeks (Oh my god - TWO WEEKS!) the first congress of the year takes place and coincidently also my first congress as a Project Coordinator - meaning I have been working with everything from the exhibition, to handling of speakers and registration desk and signage. With a break from life-onsite for over 6 months I have to admit that it feels a bit like the very first time and I am in a constant state between excited and nervous. Then I just take a walk (one of the many tips from my lovely mentor) to clear my head and then my event-mentality and that must have ”everything-will-work-out”-mindset kicks in and everything feels alright again. 

Of course then I go home and dream the strangest work-related dreams and random dramatic scenarios involving people I know and find myself sitting at the office thinking: ”That didn’t happen - Did it? Nooo, it just a dream. Right??!” Not really being able to decide. What the hell - it makes life exciting. Can’t wait to see what I’ll dream about tonight. 

 

 
Congress - Events - Foreplay - MCI - MCI Nordics - PCO - Work