First impression

So after three weeks I am finally somewhat comfortable in the city known to the world as Brighton. 

On a first glance the experience was slightly dramatic. After having spent a mere three hours in my room at the Miami Hotel, I longed to go home and began looking at pictures of my two sisters, my parents and of the city I call home.  

How comfortable it would have been to be able to walk around a city and to know just about exactly where to go and what to do. Have a Coffe Mocha at George and maybe take a walk towards the College of Gavle, sit on the benches outside the library and read "God's little acre". After a few hours maybe begin to walk towards Satra and stop at Rosita's house to chat about the latest news in our lives.
    Instead, here I was in a new city walking around the streets all alone, with a heavy bag on my shoulder and nobody to call on or speak to. 
Tears began to fall down my cheeks. What the hell was I doing here? I've been wanting to come abroad to study since I was seven years old, I thought I would be jumping with joy. I had never felt more alone. 
   
The past three week's I have moved twice. From the Miami Hotel to Maldon, where I lived for two week's, and then to Sacksville. A house I will be leaving tomorrow for yet another host family on Holland, whom I'll be leaving nine days later.

Now, finally, I've begun to see it for what it is. An adventure. 
 Moving from one place to the other, living out of a suitcase and meeting alot of increadible people. Personalities I've only seen on the tele back home.
     And the class, a class consisting of only Swedes naturally leads to the students speaking a great deal of Swedish. Every now and then we do a 180 degree spin and spontaneously begin to speak english.   

Pubbing and clubbing and a whole lot of Starbucks sums up my three week's in Brighton, surprisingly well. For you who didn't feel like reading the whole "boring" sob story above :p
     xxx 
 from Brighton    


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0