When logical thinking goes out the window

We had just had dinner - me, my sister and my mother - and were relaxing in front of Netflix when suddenly there was a sound. From outside. Knowing we were home alone the sound stopped us cold. Something bumped into something else and then it stopped.

All of a sudden the living room door was closed and I was sitting on the dining table. Not really sure exactly how it happened, but apparently my reflexes work like spiderman. 

Sure I’ll trip over my own feet while walking down the street in a pair of ballerinas, but a sound that is out of place and there is no telling what I’ll do. Or in this case, where I’ll end up. 

When the sound had stopped my sister and mother, who where slightly stunned but doing their best to ignore that I was sitting on the table (?), were standing. The room was quiet, and we were listening for more sounds. Was someone in our house? Was anyone outside? What the hell was that sound? 

Then my mother realized ”maybe it was the mouse trap?”

So you’re probably wondering what the F happened and probably getting a bit restless wondering if I’m ever going to get to the point. 

Yes I will but you see, some things you can’t simply blur out as it will lead to misunderstandings and then you’ll be laughing too. And we don’t want that. 

So here’s the thing.

There was a rat or a mouse in the house. Not really sure which and honestly, even though I’ve heard that apparently there is a big difference as mouses are supposedly cute, I don’t really care. Cause, it’s a rat, or a mouse and to me, it might as well had been a squirrel. It’s an animal, and it belongs outside. 

We knew we had a problem with rats in the house and ever since we found out my mother and father had carefully laid out traps in hopes of catching them. 

Anyhow, when my mother had uttered the likeliness that it was probably a mouse I jumped off the table and opened the door. 

I mean, even if there was someone in our house, what where we supposed to do - Sit trapped inside a room with a glass door? Not exactly hidden or discrete. But we had decided that it was most likely just a rat. So I looked outside in the hallway just to be sure a robber wasn’t hiding outside and said it. 

”I know what we should do!” I said with a certainty that I still haven’t really realized actually makes people around me think I really know what I’m doing. Which sometimes I do, yes, but mostly I’m just making it up as I go. 

They waited for the answer and I turned around and pointed at my younger sister. 

”I think you should go check it out.” 

And this is where they stopped and then bursted out laughing. I suppose it was not volunteering myself that had them laughing, but before you do too! You should know that I had at this point done a quick calculation in my head and come to the conclusion that; my mother might have been the parent, but her reactions aren’t always the best. And though I consider myself fearless and most often cool headed, my reflexes are sometimes unpredictable and can get me seriously injured (and they have and I’ll tell you about that some other time). So out of the three of us, my little sister, who is ridiculously strong I might add, was the best pick. 

So yes, it made the most sense to send her out. And though she is my younger sister, it’s only by one year and she’s way more responsible than I. 

AND there was a rat. I mean, when there’s a rat involved, logical thinking goes out the window, really. So yes, I did say it. And yes there was cause for my mother and my little sister to stop for a minute, glance at me (as if I was insane) and then burst out laughing. But it was my natural reaction. Like I said - totally unpredictable. 

 
Gävle - Spidergirl - delegating - humour - netflix - sisters - spiderman - story of my life - work
1
Christine's Stories - Cape Town Edition

Jag hase typ gömt mig under sängen! Haha, är så sjukt lättskrämd, och mörkrädd. I princip rädd för allt. Så jag klandrar inte din reaktion. Min hade varit värre!

Svar: Hahaha! Skönt att veta att man inte är ensam!!
Sara Sharifpour