From her side of the story

Part two. 

As you read her side of the story you will find passages in italics that might sound like they were by her and not me, well, I just couldn't help myself. 

 

From her side of the story 

By Yasmine Härnebo-Grapenwall 

Do you ever get the feeling when you meet someone new that you would be great as friends? Even before they have said a word to you? It probably sounds crazy (and a little bit stalk-ish) but that’s how I felt the first time I saw her in class, sitting two rows behind her. 

(I don’t think I had an idea she was sitting behind me. That is a bit scary. Probably mostly concerned with not spilling my coffee all over myself or someone else first day in class). 

I have a vague memory of that first time when I saw her at university. It was the second day of school, and the teacher (the-I-am-too-good-to-work-here-but-I-need-the-cash type) called out the participation list. Her preppy looks with short skirts (obviously not tooooo short),  

  - (this feels sarcastic. Is it sarcastic? Are my skirts short? But I always make sure they cover my ass! that’s the perfect length!) 

cute tops, curls everywhere and always, and I mean always, a colorful beret made her… Different. In a brilliant kind of way. Most of our classmates wore grey. Yeah, different nuances of grey (you could say 50 shades of it). Finally someone… Colorful! 

We practically survived the dullness of our university building (grey concrete, need I say more) by café-hopping our way through different assignments. This is an important caterpillar of our relationship! When we meet, we always have coffee, Italian caprese, something sweet or champagne. Or all at once. Hey, it’s necessary to keep hydrated and blood sugar on a high if you want to squeeze in topics ranging from work, relationships and how to save the world. I mean, did anyone – ever - do anything good in history, while being hungry? 

No, I didn’t think so. But back to eating. This girl really hooked me up with some of the things that I call necessities in life. For example, the dirty chai at Espresso House? My absolute favorite that’s not on the menu, and of course it was Sara who introduced me! 

(I have absolutely no recollection of even having tried the dirty chai at Espresso House… Omg, perhaps I had a black out. Does this mean I am an addict? A café-addict?)  

One of the things I really admire about her is her sparkling take on life. If you were to look up the word “bon vivant”, you would find a smiling picture of Sara. 

She knows how to make anything magical. Which is a very good quality in life, if I may say so myself. It’s no coincident that she a brilliant fashion and lifestyle writer! 

I love our pep talks, in between work and life where I get to listen to all of her current projects (believe me there are always a few at hand when you talk to this girl). 

If I would be trapped alone on an island (please, please let it be a tropical island in that case), I would definitely choose Sara to join me. She would be really optimistic and probably end up finding a secret spa resort where others would just find sand. 

(Fyi if you google Bon vivant you will find that it’s a very popular name for restaurants. Yes, i googled it!) 

 

50 shades - Becky Bloomwood - Bon Vivant - Coffee - Jmk - Lifestyle - Work - Yasmine Härnebo Grapenwall - journalist - writer