Part one: Paris - Sex and the City-style

Svensk översättning längre ned. 

More than a month has passed since I was still a twenty-something girl and I finally got around to putting the finishing touches on the post that was actually written just after my birthday. 

After spending a whole month celebrating the big day, that’s right you heard me, A MONTH (it is my strong belief that if you are going to do something you should do it right). Coming from a completely other planet than people who think birthday's stop being fun after the age of 16… me, I started on January 1st and will probably stop sometime around Christmas. 

For the big 30 - I wanted to do something extra special, so I booked my first trip to Paris and thereby ticked off the last point on my To-do-before-30-list. My birthday, that is the actual day I was born was Wednesday the 31st and the day before I left the office and headed to the airport to have an hour to myself before meeting my up with my date for the trip. Becky B. the economy journalist soon arrived and two girls, each wearing a colorful beret passed through the security check and immediately made their way to a restaurant. 

Slightly tipsy after a glass of champagne (my choice), me and Becky B. boarded the plane just after they called our names for the last call (her thing). 

We arrived late and the city was, I really want to say lit up, but honestly it was just a bit too cloudy to be magical. Somehow we made our way to the final stop: La Muette where our mutual girlfriend lives on top of a bakery. 

In a typical Tatti-style she welcomed us wearing not more than a little black dress and a pair of Dior heels, you know, what everyone wears at home any given Tuesday evening. She actually does! 

Being the sweetest ever she had prepared an orgie of balloons, three glasses, a bottle of wine and pastries from the bakery below. Like always when we are together the air was quickly filled with gossip, serious talk of current politics, work, sexual preferences and sharp comments mixed like together like a dangerously delicious drink. The kind I am a master of. 

The next day, also know as MY BIRTHDAY, started with a cup of coffee as three girls got ready for a day in Paris. We started with a sort-of-breakfast that we thought would be more a brunch that turned out to actually just be a regular lunch. After finishing the strangest first meal ever in Paris we were three girls in desperate need of a cup of coffee and loving the location of Tatti’s apartment within a minute of about five cafés, we decided on one of them for dessert and an espresso. 

Ready to start the day, Becky decided to go for a trip to Galerie Lafayette while our friend the freelance journalist/model stayed home to get some work done. 

A short metro-trip took as straight to Lafayette´s shoe department where an hour was easily spent before going upstairs and visiting Tiffany’s and Chanel. 

Shopping is tough, even when it is window-shopping so we got two cappuccinos, two pain au chocolates and grabbed seats at one of Lafayette’s cafés. There we sat talking about writing, life and making plans for the next couple of days. 

 
 
At six o’clock my phone rang and our friend was wondering if we where almost home. We had decided that we should be home at six to get ready for our night out. 

So as we were standing on the 6th floor still in the Galerie Lafayette, I just nodded and said: ”We are just leaving here, we’ll be home soon” andI could hear the hesitation in her tone as I said goodbye. We quickly made our way to the metro and as we reached the apartment just before 7 I was seriously expecting our lovely host to be slightly more than a little annoyed. She simply said: ”You know what, it’s your birthday and I don’t want you to stress, so I just pushed our dinner-reservation”. 

Although I knew well-before this point how much I liked her, now I absolutely ADORED her! 

Dressed and before popping the bottle of champagne we did what has become a tradition whenever we meet - we got the bottle and started posing. Which might sound a bit weird but its our thing and yes we are a bit weird and we love it. Within ten minutes we had more than 100 pictures and it was time to pop the bottle. 

 
 
Champagne, a cheese platter and girl talk before leaving the apartment and taking a cab to Kong - the restaurant where Carrie has lunch with her Russian boyfriends ex-wife when she moves to Paris. Being three girls who could pretty much quote every single Sex and the City-girl episode with their eyes closed (and we did!), this could not have been better choice of restaurant! 

The magical night ended with a Mille-feuille, blowing out two candles at the restaurant, walking across Pont des neuf, having drinks at a cosy restaurant and finally taking a cab back home. My birthday was even better than I imagined. 

A lovely co-worker of mine told me that I ”live like in a movie” - and I just loved that.

So that’s what I made my 30-cheers to: ”To making life into the best movie you ever saw”

This was Wednesday and before leaving the city that Sunday afternoon I did get to see the truly magical side of Paris, had lots of champagne, spent a couple hours at the Louvre with Edith Piaf and went on a date at the Eiffel tower. Paris is simply a three part story and the next part comes up soon! 

 

Svenska:

En månad har passerat sedan jag fortfarande var i tjugoårs-kategorin och äntligen har jag redigerat klart inlägget om hur jag firade min födelsedag. 

Efter att ha spenderat en hel månad med att fira den stora dagen, just det, EN MÅNAD (det är min starka åsikt att om man nu ska göra något så ska man göra det ordentligt) var jag mer än redo att fylla trettio. 

Då jag är från en helt annan värld än de som anser att födelsedagar slutar vara roliga att fira efter 16-års dagen, så började jag fira 30-årsdagen den första januari och kommer troligtvis att sluta någonting runt jul. 

Eftersom det ändå var den stora 30 ville jag hitta på något extra speciellt och bestämde mig för att boka min första resa till Paris och därmed stryka sista punkten från min ”Att göra-innan-30”-lista. Det kan bli lite förvirrande om när man faktiskt fyller år, iallafall för omvärlden, så jag tog emot gratulationer i ”efterskott” under hela januari. Men dagen jag föddes var på alltså på onsdagen den 31 januari och dagen innan åkte jag från kontoret till flygplatsen för lite pre-trip-relax-time innan jag mötte min fabulösa resesällskap.

När Becky, ekonomijournalisten anlände passerade två tjejer, båda iklädda en färgglad basker, genom säkerhetskontrollen och till närmaste matställe. 

Efter ett glas champagne (mitt val) skyndade vi oss och klev på planet efter att de ropat ut våra namn för sista boarding (hennes grej). 

Vi anlände till Paris och staden var, jag vill verkligen säga att den var ljuvlig, men för att vara helt ärlig var det bara lite för molnigt för att vara magiskt. På något sätt hittade vi till vårt stopp: La Muette där vår gemensamma nämnare har en lägenhet ovanför ett bageri.  

I klassisk Tatti-stil välkomnade hon oss iklädd inte mer än en liten svart klänning och ett par Dior-klackar, ni vet, för det är vad alla har på sig hemma en helt vanlig tisdag. Eller, hon har ju faktiskt det! 

Som den söta person hon är, hade hon förberett en orgie of ballonger, tre glas, en flaska vin och bakelser från bageriet. Efter midnatt blev det sång, ett ljus och ett önskan. Som alltid när vi är tillsammans fylldes luften sedan snabbt med skvaller, allvarligt snack om aktuell politik, jobb, sexuella preferenser och skarpa kommentarer, allt ihop mixade som en farligt stark drink. Sorten jag är en mästare av att blanda ihop. 

Resten av dagen, även känd som MIN FÖDELSEDAG, började med en kopp kaffe medan vi gjorde oss redo för en dag i Paris. Vi började med en frukost som vi tänkte skulle vara mer som en brunch men som visade sig bli mer som en helt vanlig lunch. Efter att ha avslutat den konstigaste första måltiden var vi en trio i desperat behov av en kopp kaffe. En espresso senare var vi redo att starta dagen och jag och Becky bestämde oss för en tur till Galerie Lafayette medan Tatti, frilansjournalisten/modellen stannade hemma för att få lite jobb gjort. En snabb resa med metron förde oss raka vägen till Lafayettes skoavdelning där vi spenderade en timme innan vi åkte upp och besökte Chanel och Tiffany’s. 

Shopping är faktiskt mer ansträngande än man tror, till och med när det handlar om fönstershopping, så vi köpte varsin cappuccino och två pain au chocolates och satte oss på ett av Lafayette’s kaféer med sikt över gallerian. Där gjorde planer för de kommande dagarna. 

Klockan sex ringde Tatti och undrade var vi var. Under morgonens fikastund bestämde vi för att ses hemma vid 18 för att göra oss iordning för kvällen. Nu stod vi fortfarande högst uppe i Galerie Lafayette, så jag gjorde vad vem som helst hade gjort, jag nickade och sa: ”Vi håller precis på och lämnar gallerian, vi är snart hemma!”, och kunde riktigt höra tvekan i hennes röst när hon sa okej och la på. Vi skyndade oss ned till metron och kom fram till lägenheten strax innan sju och jag var helt övertygad att vår värdinna skulle vara mer än bara lite irriterad. Men när vi hängt av oss jackorna sa hon bara: ”Vet du vad, det är din födelsedag och jag vill inte att du ska stressa så jag sköt upp vår middagsreservation”.  

Fast jag visste långt innan den här stunden hur mycket jag gillade henne, så absolut avgudade jag henne nu!  

Klädda för natten och gjorde vi något som numera blivit en tradition varje gång vi ses, vi tog flaskan och började posera. Vilket jag inser kan låta lite underligt men det är vår grej och ja vi är lite underliga och vi älskar det. Inom tio minuter hade vi över 100 bilder och det var dags att öppna flaskan. 

Det blev ett (okej, tre) glas bubbel och tjejsnack innan vår uber anlände och körde oss förbi Eiffeltornet och till Kong - restaurangen där Carrie lunchar med ryska pojkvännens ex-fru när de flyttar till Paris. Eftersom vi är tre tjejer som med stängda ögon kan citera i princip varenda avsnitt av Sex and the City kunde de inte ha valt en bättre restaurang. 

Den magiska natten slutade med en fantastiskt god Mille-feuille på Kong, en promenad över Pont neuf-bron, drinkar på en mysig restaurang och slutligen en taxiresa hem. Födelsedagen var ännu bättre än jag hade föreställt mig. 

En kollega sa att jag ”lever som i en film” - och jag bara älskade det. Så det blev min 30-års skål: ”För att göra livet till den bästa filmen du någonsin såg”. 

Det här var bara onsdag och innan jag lämnade staden på söndagseftermiddagen fick jag se den magiska sidan av Paris, drack en del bubbel, spenderade några timmar i Louvren med Edith Piaf och var på en dejt i Eiffeltornet. Paris var helt enkelt en saga i tre delar och nästa del kommer snart!

 

 

Becky Bloomwood - Champagne - Chanel - Galerie Lafayette - Kong - La Muette - Le Tatjana - Lifestyle - Sex and the City - Tiffany's - Travel - birthday - blogger - girls - paris